

Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Urban Growth Partnerships in Queenstown Lakes and Wellington-Horowhenua

Portfolio Housing

On 2 June 2021, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- noted that urban growth partnerships have been established in Auckland, the Hamilton-Auckland Corridor, and Tauranga/Western Bay of Plenty [DEV-19-MIN-0130 and DEV-20-MIN-0166];
- 2 **noted** that a joint spatial plan has been completed for the Hamilton Metropolitan Area, and that joint spatial plans for the Queenstown Lakes and Wellington-Horowhenua are expected to be finalised in mid-2021 following public consultation;
- 3 **noted** that the joint-spatial plans provide a valuable foundation to advance Regional Spatial Strategies proposed in the resource management reforms, and to improve spatial planning capability across government agencies and councils;
- 4 **agreed** that the Crown join the Whaiora Grow Well Partnership for the Queenstown Lakes by endorsing Terms of Reference attached as Appendix B to the paper under DEV-21-SUB-0113;
- agreed that the Crown join the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee by endorsing the Partnership Agreement attached as Appendix C to the paper under DEV-21-SUB-0113;
- endorsed the Draft Wellington Regional Growth Framework, which is summarised in Appendix D to the paper under DEV-21-SUB-0113, as the joint draft spatial plan for the Wellington-Horowhenua area;
- 7 **noted** that any changes to the Draft Wellington Regional Growth Framework resulting from public engagement will be considered by the Wellington Regional Leadership Committee;
- 8 **noted** that scoping for possible urban growth partnerships and joint spatial plans is being progressed for Greater Christchurch and the Northland to Auckland Corridor, and that future proposals will be reported to Cabinet as they are advanced.

Janine Harvey
Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon David Parker

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Phil Twyford

Rino Tirikatene MP

Dr Deborah Russell MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV