## Appendix D - Information on Joint Three Waters Steering Committee

- The Joint Three Waters Steering Committee has been established to provide oversight and guidance to support progress towards reform, and to assist in engaging with local government, iwi/Māori and other water sector stakeholders on options and proposals.
- The Steering Committee comprises independent chair Brian Hanna, local government mayors, chairs and chief executives, representatives of Local Government New Zealand (LGNZ) and the Society of Local Government Managers (SOLGM), and officials and advisors from the Department of Internal Affairs (DIA), Taumata Arowai, and the Treasury.
- The Steering Committee will ensure that the perspectives, interests and expertise of both central and local government, and of communities throughout New Zealand are considered, while the challenges facing water services and infrastructure are addressed. This will include periods of engagement, in the first instance with the local government sector. an overview is provided below.
- The Steering Committee is supported by a secretariat made up of advisors and officials from LGNZ, SOLGM, DIA and the Treasury. This secretariat is hosted by DIA.
- The terms of reference for the Steering Committee is available on the DIA Three Waters website.