2023 Arrowtown-Kawarau Ward by-election

A by-election is required to fill an extraordinary vacancy for a councillor for the Arrowtown-Kawarau Ward. The vacancy has arisen from the recent resignation of Cr Neeta Shetty.

Nominations Election details


Nominations closed on Thursday 9 March 2023.

The following nominations were received:


Nominator #1

Nominator #2

John Glover

Rachel Rose

Jana Davis

Melissa White

Tracey Maclaren

Stephen Brent


Election details

The election will be conducted by postal voting using the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting papers. The voting papers will be mailed out to electors on Thursday 13 April 2023 and voting will close at midday on Friday 5 May 2023.

Special Voting

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations may be exercised at the following place during ordinary office hours between 13 April  and 12.00pm on 5 May 2023:

  • Queenstown Lakes District Council, Queenstown Service Centre, 10 Gorge Road, Queenstown

A person may apply to enrol as either a residential elector or a ratepayer elector no later than 4 May – the day before the close of voting. 

Electoral Officer Contact Details

Jane Robertson, Electoral Officer – Queenstown Lakes District Council

Private Bag 50072, Queenstown 9348

(03) 441 0499


Stay up-to-date

Sign up to our newsletter Scuttlebutt and stay up-to-date with the latest news, events & information in the Queenstown Lakes District.