Wanaka Community Board

The Wanaka Community Board is not a committee of Council but a separate unincorporated body established under Section 49 of the Local Government Act 2002.  The role of the Wanaka Community Board is to represent and act as an advocate for the Wanaka community.  The Council has given extensive delegation to the Wanaka Community Board to make decisions on many of the facilities and services located within the Wanaka Ward.

Community Board elected members are: Rachel Brown, Jude Battson, Ruth Harrison and Ed Taylor

Community Board appointed members are: Councillors Calum MacLeod, Ross McRobie and Quentin Smith

Councillor Quentin Smith is the Chair of the Wanaka Community Board.

Ms Ruth Harrison is the Deputy Chair. 

Wanaka Community Board Terms of Reference [230KB]


Planning & Strategy Committee

The objective of the Planning & Strategy Committee is to recommend strategies, plans and policies that advance the Council’s vision and goals for the District and ensure integrated and sustainable management of the natural and physical resources of the District in accordance with the Resource Management Act 1991.

Committee Members are: Councillors Tony Hill (Chair), Ross McRobie, Calum MacLeod, Valerie Miller, Quentin Smith and John MacDonald.

Planning & Strategy Committee Terms of Reference [519KB]


Infrastructure Committee

The objective of the Infrastructure Committee is to review strategy and policy for the Council’s infrastructure.

Committee Members are: Councillors Alexa Forbes (Chair), Craig Ferguson, Penny Clark, Ross McRobie and John MacDonald.

Infrastructure Committee Terms of Reference [515KB]


Community & Services Committee

The objective of the Community & Services Committee is to review strategy and policy essential to the development of resilient, successful, healthy and safe communities.

Committee Members are: Councillors Scott Stevens (Chair), Craig Ferguson (Deputy), Penny Clark, Valerie Miller and Quentin Smith.

Community & Services Committee Terms of Reference [503KB]


Audit, Finance & Risk Committee

The objectives of the Audit, Finance & Risk Committee are to assist the Council to discharge its responsibilities for:

a. the robustness of the internal control framework and financial management practices;

b. the integrity and appropriateness of internal and external reporting and accountability arrangements;

c. the robustness of risk management systems, processes and practices;

d. compliance with applicable laws, regulations, standards and best practice guidelines; and

e. the establishment and maintenance of controls to safeguard the Council's financial and nonfinancial assets.

Committee members are: Councillors Ross McRobie (Chair) , Tony Hill and Mr Stuart McLauchlan and Mr Roger Taylor

Audit, Finance & Risk Committee Terms of Reference [572KB]


Governance Subcommittee

The objectives of the Governance Subcommittee are to provide prompt authoritative recommendations on the recruitment and selection of directors to Council controlled organisations and Council controlled trading organisations.

Committee Members are: Mayor Jim Boult, Chief Executive Mike Theelen and Councillor Tony Hill.

Governance Subcommittee Terms of Reference [29.1KB]


Elected Member Conduct Committee

The objectives of the Elected Member Conduct Committee are:

1. To monitor compliance with:

     a. the Queenstown Lakes District Council Code of Conduct for Elected Members (‘Code of Conduct’); and

     b. the Queenstown Lakes District Council Standing Orders (‘Standing Orders’).

2. Conduct an inquiry into any matters which may be referred to it by the Chief Executive or an elected member.

3. Conduct an inquiry and determine whether or not any complaint is to be upheld and to make recommendations to Council.

4. Consider, report and make any other recommendations to the Council concerning any matters arising from its inquiry in relation to or concerning any complaint alleging a breach of Standing Orders or the Code of Conduct.

Committee Members are: All elected members of the Council and an independent person to be appointed by Council.

Elected Member Conduct Committee Terms of Reference [37.2KB]


Appeals  Subcommittee

The objectives of the Appeals Subcommittee are to guide the resolution to appeals and mediations under the Resource Management Act 1991.

Committee Members are: The Chair of the Planning & Strategy Committee and any two members of the Planning & Strategy Committee.

Appeals Subcommittee Terms of Reference [498KB]


District Licensing Committee

The District Licensing Committee will consider and determine all applications (opposed and unopposed) for new and renewal licences and manager’s certificates, temporary authorities and special licences under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

Committee Members are: Bill Unwin (Chair), John Mann, Lyal Cocks, Michael MacAvoy, Bob McNeil and Neil Gillespie.