Our stormwater network

This page includes a background behind our stormwater network and links to the Integrated Three Waters Bylaw and Administration Manual.

About our stormwater network

We maintain seven public reticulated stormwater systems throughout the district – Queenstown, Wānaka, Arrowtown, Hāwea, Glenorchy, Albert Town and Arthur’s Point, made up of 368km of pipes.

The stormwater collects and travels  through the stormwater system eventually discharging (currently untreated) into the receiving environment (i.e. water or land). 

Other small settlements in the district, such as Kingston, Luggate and Makarora, have limited stormwater systems and generally rely on ground soakage and natural watercourses, swales and gullies for their disposal of stormwater.

Effective stormwater management is important to ensure that contaminant don't get carried into our public waterways.     

Stormwater infrastructure is important to ensure that contaminants don’t get carried into our public waterways. Left unchecked, stormwater could have a negative effect on the environment, and could also lead to flooding and land instability.

Three Waters Bylaw